Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
The French Girl
The Wife Between Us
In a Cottage In a Wood
 
 

See Larger
Mrs. Jeffries Rights a Wrong (A Victorian Mystery)
By: Emily Brightwell
List Price: $16.00
Your Price: $10.87
(as of: 02/18/18)
Manufacturer: Berkley
ISBN: 039958420X
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Release Date 2017-05-02
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Mrs. Jeffries Rights a Wrong (A Victorian Mystery) by Emily Brightwell to your shopping cart

Product Description:

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mytery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

Thomas Mundy checks in to London’s Wrexley Hotel, but he never checks out. The maid finds him on the floor of his room, bludgeoned to death by his own walking stick. Inspector Witherspoon is soon on the case and learns Mundy had a reputation for being polite, charming, and diligent—an unlikely victim for such a violent crime.
 
But Mrs. Jeffries and the household staff uncover that Mundy was less an amiable businessman and more a duplicitous con man with enemies on both sides of the Atlantic. Now Witherspoon and his staff must determine who on their lengthy list of suspects had the motive to put Mundy in the red.
 
A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery
 
She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done.



Inspector Witherspoon’s newest case is a doozy: a known con man has been bashed on the head with his own cane, and the list of suspects includes several people who had been conned by the trickster, Thomas Mundy. Mundy has enemies from all walks of life and from the United States as well as his home country, England, and it’s going to take a lot of legwork for Mrs. Jeffries and her capable team of coworkers and compatriots to sort through the details.

It’s clear that there are several people, both male and female, that could have wanted to kill Mundy, and there are just as many with the means as with a motive. Mrs. Jeffries and her crew fan out throughout the area, hoping to pick up details that Witherspoon may have missed. Details are found, but the trick is getting that information to Detective Witherspoon without that man suspecting a thing – and Mrs. Jeffries knows it.

The investigation goes down many paths as both the official and unofficial investigators piece together the details of each suspect’s grudge with the dead man, and soon Detective Witherspoon has a clear suspect that he plans to charge with Mundy’s murder…but is it truly the murderer? Mrs. Jeffries thinks she knows who killed Mundy, and it may or may not be the same person Witherspoon has determined. How will she get the Inspector to see things her way without tipping her hand?

Rarely does a series last as long as Emily Brightwell’s “Mrs. Jeffries” mysteries, but Mrs. Jeffries and Detective Witherspoon have serious staying power! Mrs. Jeffries Rights a Wrong is the 35th book in this Victorian-era series, and the cast of characters is as strong a team as ever. Brightwell manages to keep the cast familiar yet evolving, and although change is slow to come, there is a comfort with that sameness that is engaging to readers. This series is classic English cozy to the core, so brew up a cuppa and settle in for a most charming murder mystery!

 
By: Joyce Greenfield, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2018