Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
The Book of Summer
Death in Dark Blue
Party Girls Die in Pearls
Your Killin' Heart
The Jane Austen Project
Murder In Matera
 
 

See Larger
The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery
By: Susan Elia MacNeal
List Price: $16.00
Your Price: $10.48
(as of: 06/27/17)
Manufacturer: Bantam
ISBN: 0804178720
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Release Date 2016-10-04
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery by Susan Elia MacNeal to your shopping cart
Customers Also Bought
 
Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante: A Maggie Hope Mystery
By: Susan Elia MacNeal
List Price: $16.00
Your Price: $10.20
Manufacturer: Bantam
Learn More...
Didn't see what you were looking for? Try our Advanced Search

Product Description:

Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes. What’s more, he’s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill’s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed “the Blackout Beast.” A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

Praise for The Queen’s Accomplice

Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.”Kirkus Reviews

“A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.”Booklist

“Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal’s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie’s next adventure.”Shelf Awareness

“Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.”Historical Novel Society

“For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.”Reviewing the Evidence

“MacNeal’s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real.”Crimespree Magazine



Maggie Hope, an accomplished MI-5 field agent, is working temporarily in the Special Operations Executive’s offices (SOE) in London. Unlike her fellow field agents, the desk jockeys who work at the SOE espouse a more subservient role for women – fetching coffee, filing papers. Maggie’s image and reputation as an agent should earn her the respect of her peers, but not here. In fact, women agents like Maggie, who work in the field risking their lives for queen and country, are considered expendable. They’re not provided any of the protections or benefits their male counterparts receive, something the SOE seems content to ignore.

Maggie is rescued from office duty by General Frain, the head of MI-5, who summons her back into service. Her mission: flush out the Blackout Beast, a Jack the Ripper copycat murderer targeting independent, professional women in London, women much like Maggie. The Beast kills with surgical precision and poses his victims’ bodies Ripper-style, down to the last gory detail. His latest gruesome killing, a young colleague of Maggie’s, hits awfully close to home. If the Beast’s motivation is to frighten and intimate women off the streets, he doesn’t know Maggie. “You want to play? All right, then, Jack—let’s do it.”

In this latest Maggie Hope novel, the perspectives of heroes, heroines, villains and victims converge into one finely crafted tale. The story is filled with the intrigue and deception that defined Nazi era London, and is a fitting tribute to the courageous women freedom-fighters who no one ever hears about, but should be forever grateful.

 
By: Sandra Van Winkle, ReadertoReader.com

In the sixth installment in MacNeal’s series featuring Maggie Hope, the author once again delivers another stellar historical mystery that skillfully transports readers back to London during the grim days of World War II.

The main plot thread in which Maggie teams up with a Scotland Yard Inspector to capture the “Blackout Beast” – a killer inspired by Jack the Ripper - is handled with perfect aplomb by MacNeal, whose expert sense of pacing and superb flair for creating memorable characters work their usual magic on readers.  Readers will also be delighted to find that a few other plot threads layered into the story hint at future adventures for Maggie and her circle of friends.

While The Queen’s Accomplice can be read and enjoyed all on its own, many readers will find that, as with some other mystery series, the Maggie Hope books are best read in order since each book builds on plot developments and characters from the previous titles.

 
By: John Charles, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2017