Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
A Spark of Light
The Exes' Revenge
The Stylist
 
 

See Larger
Death in Paris: A Death in Paris Mystery
By: Emilia Bernhard
List Price: $26.99
Your Price: $17.70
(as of: 12/15/18)
Manufacturer: Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781683317685
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Release Date 2018-10-09
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Death in Paris: A Death in Paris Mystery by Emilia Bernhard to your shopping cart

Product Description:

A charming series debut featuring two American sleuths in Paris, Death in Paris is a perfect traditional mystery for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

The only thing chillier than a Parisian winter is cold-blooded murder.


When French financier Edgar Bowen drowns in a bowl of soup, his former girlfriend, American Rachel Levis, is alarmed by the unnatural death. Who dies eating a nice vichyssoise? But when she overhears a mourner at his funeral describing the circumstances of his death, something sounds even stranger: a bottle of rosé was on the dining table when he died. The only problem: Edgar loathed rosé. If he wasn’t drinking it, who was?

After the police rule the death accidental, Rachel knows it’s up to her and her best friend Magda to investigate. As the two Americans immerse themselves in Edgar’s upper-class world, the list of suspects grows: Could it have been his son, who inherited his money and lavish apartment? His icy ex-wife? His greedy new girlfriend? His impoverished personal assistant?

But when the suspects start dropping like flies, Rachel and Magda realize the murderer is tying up loose ends. It’ll be up to two amateur sleuths to solve their first case before the murderer decides they’re next...



Rachel Levis knows there is no way her old paramour Edgar Bowen accidently drowned in a bowl of soup because there was a bottle of rosé on the dining table when he died. Edgar loathed rosé, ergo he had to have been murdered. Unfortunately, without any concrete proof, the French police are not willing to investigate, which means it is now up to Rachel and her best friend Magda to look into matters.

With its vibrant evocation of Paris and its many charms, reviewers have been quick to compare this delightful debut to the mysteries of Cara Black, but I think it succeeds all on its own merits. Not only does Bernhard have a deft touch with characters, she completely gets the challenges an amateur sleuth faces when it comes to playing private detective. Put this together with a deliciously dry sense of Gallic wit with which the author infuses her writing, and you have a mystery that is tres amusement.
 

 
By: John Arnold Charles, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2018